A piece of cultural history – with tasteful tradition

The original Nuremberg Rostbratwurst won over the hearts of the people of Nuremberg a long, long time ago. We celebrate the oldest ‘certified quality bratwurst’ in the world every year with a folk festival. After all, the population has a lot to thank their bratwurst for: the sales hit has been making a valuable contribution to the local economy for more than 700 years, and it granted international fame to the city and the Franconia region. It might even be more famous than Nuremberg Lebkuchen – the traditional German Christmas treat similar to gingerbread. The export figures prove the popularity of Nuremberg bratwurst well beyond the borders of Franconia: over a billion sausages are produced for the international market every year.

The secret to the Nuremberg bratwurst’s success lies in the protected geographical indication – as a certified regional specialty, they have to fulfil much higher standards than a run-of-the-mill sausage. These standards cover the ingredients, meat quality and location. Only sausages produced in the city of Nuremberg according to a set and protected recipe are allowed to be labelled ‘Nuremberg Rostbratwurst’. The history is dating back to the 14th century. Similar to Lübeck marzipan, the origin of the ingredients is not prescribed, but their quality has to be impeccable.

A short history of the Rostbratwurst
The recipe for Nuremberg Rostbratwurst was written down as early as 1313, by the council of the Imperial City of Nuremberg. Even then, they prescribed tough quality standards for the meat used to make the sausages: the best pork loin. Using intestines to make a sausage casing which was then filled with Brät (finely chopped meat) is first documented in 1404.

Right from the start, the authentic Nuremberg sausages were a great hit with epicureans of world renown. Albrecht Dürer was recorded as a regular in Nuremberg’s bratwurst eateries, and Johann Wolfgang von Goethe had the savoury delicacies with their characteristic note of marjoram brought all the way to Weimar. In 1813, the Bayreuth author Jean Paul received his Nuremberg bratwurst by post from his publisher and thanked him with the words: ‘The sausages in my stomach form wonderful forget-me-nots from Nuremberg.’

Even in the early years, Nuremberg Rostbratwurst were only 7–9 centimetres long and weighed about 20–25 grams. One legend says that the sausages became so small because they were made to pass through the keyholes of the Nuremberg dungeons – as special treats for the prisoners. The legend tells the story of the patrician Hans Stromer, who was sentenced to life imprisonment for embezzlement. His request to be given one bratwurst at every mealtime was granted, resulting in his consumption of a total of 28,000 sausages during his 38 years in prison. The city chronicler recorded: ‘Although he ate 28,000 sausages, he never tired of eating them, so they must have been very good.’

The true story behind the invention of these tiny delicacies goes back a few hundred years. Back in 1313, the city council had laid down strict quality requirements for bratwurst production in Nuremberg, dictating the use of best pork loin cuts for sausage meat. And only specialised pork butchers were granted permission to produce Nuremberg bratwurst, according to rules governing the recipe, consistency, meat composition and water content. Sausages deemed to fail these standards were dumped unceremoniously into the Pegnitz River.

In the second half of the 16th century, the demand for high-quality bratwurst became too costly for many butchers, since market prices were falling too low.

With a keen eye for business, though, the Nuremberg butchers soon came up with a solution: They invented the small sausages. Since they could sell more sausages per kilogramme, they managed to increase their profit margin.

City of Nuremberg

City coat of arms

Nuermberg is famous for uncountable historic sites, artist and inventors. Visit a German town of culture only with one klick…

Visit City of Nuernberg

Book order

Walk of Rostbratwurst

Historic places of scenes arround the tradtion of the original ‘Nuermberg Rostbratwurst’…

PDF-order download

Local selling –

when something so good is so close.

Find out more >

Bistro am Werk `MBISS

Unique. Delicious.

Find out more >

Ein Stück Kulturgeschichte – mit geschmackvoller Tradition

Die Original Nürnberger Rostbratwurst hat die Herzen der Nürnberger erobert und wird als älteste Qualitätsbratwurst der Welt jedes Jahr mit einem ehrenvollen Fest gefeiert. Die Nürnberger haben ihr viel zu verdanken; der Verkaufsschlager fördert nun seit mehr als 700 Jahren die Wirtschaft der fränkischen Kulturstadt und ist weltbekannt. Vielleicht sogar mehr als der berühmte Nürnberger Lebkuchen. Nürnberger Bratwürste sind nicht nur in ihrer Heimat eine beliebte Spezialität. Über eine Milliarde Stück werden jährlich hergestellt und in alle Welt exportiert.

Dass gerade Nürnberger Bratwürste so gut abschneiden, liegt daran, dass sie regional geschützt sind und deswegen höhere Anforderungen erfüllen müssen als beliebige Bratwürste. Das betrifft Zusammensetzung, Fleischqualität und natürlich die Herkunft. Nur Würste, die in der Stadt Nürnberg nach einer festgeschriebenen und geschützten Rezeptur hergestellt werden, dürfen die Bezeichnung „Nürnberger Rostbratwurst“ tragen. Die Ursprünge der Nürnberger Rostbratwurst gehen zurück bis ins 14. Jahrhundert. Ähnlich wie beim Lübecker Marzipan spielt die Herkunft der eingesetzten Rohstoffe dabei keine Rolle, ausschlaggebend ist eine einwandfreie und hohe Qualität.

Die kleine Rostbratwurst-Geschichte

Die Rezeptur der Nürnberger Bratwürste wurde bereits im Jahre 1313 vom Rat der Reichsstadt Nürnberg erstmals festgeschrieben. Schon damals waren die Vorgaben von Anfang an auf die beste Qualität des Ausgangsmaterials „sweinen lentpraten“ ausgerichtet. Brät, also feines Fleisch in Därme zu füllen ist erstmals aus dem Jahr 1404 belegt.

Von Beginn an erfreuten sich die Original Nürnberger an großer Beliebtheit bei weltbekannten Feinschmeckern. Unter anderem zählte Albrecht Dürer zu den Stammgästen in den Nürnberger Bratwurstküchen und schon Johann Wolfgang von Goethe ließ sich die würzigen Würstchen mit der typischen Majoran Würzung bis nach Weimar schicken. 1813 erhielt der Bayreuther Schriftsteller Jean Paul seine Nürnberger Bratwürste per Post von seinem Verleger und bedankte sich mit den Worten: "Die Würste sind in meinem Magen schöne Vergissmeinnicht von Nürnberg."

Auch in den frühen Zeiten waren die Nürnberger Rostbratwürste nur 7 bis 9 Zentimeter lang und ca. 20 bis 25 Gramm schwer. Einer Legende nach sind sie einst so klein geraten, um durchs Schlüsselloch des Nürnberger Lochgefängnisses zu passen – die Häftlinge bekamen sie als besondere Zugabe zugesteckt. Die Legende beschreibt die Geschichte des Patrizier Hans Stromer, der wegen Veruntreuung zu lebenslanger Haft verurteilt wurde. Seiner Bitte zu jeder Mahlzeit eine Bratwurst zu erhalten wurde ihm gewährt – und somit verzehrte er 28.000 Bratwürste während seines 38-jährigen Gefängnisaufenthalts. Der Stadtchronist hielt fest: "die 28.000 die er verzehrte müssen sehr gut gewesen sein, dass sie ihm nicht leid geworden sind".

Die wahren Gründe für die Erfindung dieser kleinen Köstlichkeit liegen aber eher Jahrhunderte zurück. Seit 1313 gibt es einen Beleg über die anspruchsvolle Bratwursttradition im fränkischen Nürnberg. „Alles Schweinelenden-Prät soll man in die Würste hacken“ bestimmte die ergangene Satzung des Nürnberger Rates. Bereits damals durften nur spezialisierte Schweinemetzger die Nürnberger Bratwurst herstellen und wurden nach strengster Rezeptureinhaltung, Struktur, Fleischzusammensetzung und Wassergehalt geprüft. Wurden die Würste als minderwertig beanstandet, gelangten sie ohne Umwege zur Entsorgung  in die Pegnitz.

In der zweiten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhunderts wurde die geforderte hochwertige Bratwurst für viele Metzger zu unwirtschaftlich, denn die zu erwirtschafteten Marktpreise sanken beständig weiter ab.

Doch die geschäftstüchtigen Nürnberger hatten schnell eine Lösung gefunden: Sie erfanden die kleine Nürnberger Bratwurst und erreichen durch die daraus entstehenden hohen Stückzahlen einen attraktiven Kilopreis, der ungefähr sechsmal mehr Verdienst einbrachte, als der bisherige.